blog-app - dev journal - day 1

For the past week or so I’ve been fixing bugs in the Stacks v4.1 release at a crazy pace. I was hoping to have it done last Friday. It has some big changes for a point-one, but I hit a snag right before sending it out to developers for testing. The point is, I’ve been working like crazy and I’ve needed a break in the evenings and I’ve been tinkering with this blogging app some more.

My big idea was to rip the persistence code out of Stacks partials. It’s uses hierarchical NSFileWrappers to store an arbitrary graph and it’s easy to pick the format for each object. I figured it would be a good way to save blog posts that stores each post as a plain text file. It’s obviously more trouble, but it I liked the idea of the plain text files – and it’s nicely tested code that’s been working in production for years. So created a new app in Xcode and voila! It’s a blogging app. Or, well, maybe it could be someday.

I’m not sure how much I’ll get done only working in the evenings. And not sure how much I’ll post here. I mean, app building is not especially exciting all the time. But It seems natural to blog my dev journal while building a blogging app. Hopefully I’ll make it far enough to use the app to write the blog. So, here’s a picture of what I’ve got so far. Not very exciting – but hey, the persistence layer already works great and I’m posting, and that’s not nothing, right?

So, yeah… I’m trying that dev journal thing again. Wish me luck. Maybe I’ll work on some UI bits next and that’ll be worth posting.

Day 1 basic app

What is this: these are random snippets from my dev journal. I’ve been working on a simple blogging app for fun. This is a non-serious side project, progresses very slowly, and will probably never see the light of day. The images may not perfectly correspond to the journal entry. In most cases I’ve added them later based on the relative time of git checkins.

isaiah @isaiah